Local schools awarded Summer of Learning Grant from IDOE

MADISON COUNTY, IND. - The Indiana Department of Education’s (IDOE) Office of Digital Learning recently announced 14 recipients of their 2022 Summer of Learning Conference Series Grant. Among the recipients were Alexandria Community Schools, Anderson Community Schools, Elwood Community Schools, Frankton-Lapel Community Schools, and South Madison Community Schools who were awarded a grant to hold a joint conference next summer.

“The district leadership, including the superintendents, central office administrators, building principals, and coaches are truly committed and excited to hold this conference,” said Dr. Laura Miller, Assistant Superintendent at South Madison Community Schools. “Each school corporation has a strong commitment to student growth, alignment of instruction to meet Indiana goals, and to the past Summer of eLearning conferences.”

Since 2001, Madison County schools have collaborated to provide meaningful professional development opportunities for teachers and administrators through the CAPE Teacher Connection, CAPE Principal Network, summer workshops, and various learning partnerships. In recent years, the districts hosted eLEAD conferences.

“Each school corporation is committed to providing opportunities and bridging gaps for its students as educators work to develop and refine College and Career Readiness curriculum and instruction,” said Mr. Jason Bletzinger, Director of Curriculum, Instruction, and Elementary Education at Anderson Community Schools. “This conference will allow area educators to learn from colleagues and national experts about innovative pedagogical strategies to engage, empower, and elevate student learning.”

The conference will be held on June 1-2, 2022 at Highland Middle School. Additional details, including registration information and sponsorship opportunities, will be made available in the coming weeks. 

Since 2019, the Summer of Learning, formerly eLearning, grant has supported 19 conferences throughout the state, providing opportunities for more than 8,000 Indiana educators to learn about teaching and learning in technology-rich environments.