Anderson Community Schools

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
Knowledge. Service. Community.

Diversity Council

The Diversity Council was established in October of 2015. The Council works with the Director of Multicultural Education and Behavioral Services to promote and achieve Anderson Community School Corporation diversity and social justice goals. Our membership includes both licensed and classified staff, community members and parents.

Mission of Diversity Council

In this 1st year of the Diversity Council conference, we want to move forward and work together to achieve equitable practices in education under a multicultural lens for all. The word “all” is intended to highlight all forms of social identities and constructs. The members of the diversity council will fulfill this mission by:

–Fostering a work climate that is built on inclusiveness, mutual respect, education, appreciation and understanding

–Supporting diversity initiatives in the recruitment and retention of faculty, staff and students from underrepresented groups

–Creating safe, respectful and consistent opportunities to discuss diverse perspectives

–Encouraging an awareness and appreciation of diversity among members of the ACSC community


Committee Members

Sylvia Bogle

Treva Bostic
Sharon Buchanan
Eric Davis
Mary Dixon
Tamie Dixon-Tatum
Ryan Glaze
Randall Harrison

Rev. Manuel Hunt

Stephanie Moran

Rev. Wayne Redding

LaKoya Rochelle

George Salinas

Judi Shafer

Wendy Shannon

Erin Smith

Tim Smith

Tyrone Thomas

David Tijerina

Bill Watson